Synthetic molecular recognition nanosensor paint for microalbuminuria Journal Article

Authors: Budhathoki-Uprety, J.; Shah, J.; Korsen, J. A.; Wayne, A. E.; Galassi, T. V.; Cohen, J. R.; Harvey, J. D.; Jena, P. V.; Ramanathan, L. V.; Jaimes, E. A.; Heller, D. A.
Article Title: Synthetic molecular recognition nanosensor paint for microalbuminuria
Abstract: Microalbuminuria is an important clinical marker of several cardiovascular, metabolic, and other diseases such as diabetes, hypertension, atherosclerosis, and cancer. The accurate detection of microalbuminuria relies on albumin quantification in the urine, usually via an immunoturbidity assay; however, like many antibody-based assessments, this method may not be robust enough to function in global health applications, point-of-care assays, or wearable devices. Here, we develop an antibody-free approach using synthetic molecular recognition by constructing a polymer to mimic fatty acid binding to the albumin, informed by the albumin crystal structure. A single-walled carbon nanotube, encapsulated by the polymer, as the transduction element produces a hypsochromic (blue) shift in photoluminescence upon the binding of albumin in clinical urine samples. This complex, incorporated into an acrylic material, results in a nanosensor paint that enables the detection of microalbuminuria in patient samples and comprises a rapid point-of-care sensor robust enough to be deployed in resource-limited settings. © 2019, The Author(s).
Journal Title: Nature Communications
Volume: 10
ISSN: 2041-1723
Publisher: Nature Publishing Group  
Date Published: 2019-08-09
Start Page: 3605
Language: English
DOI: 10.1038/s41467-019-11583-1
PUBMED: 31399600
PROVIDER: scopus
PMCID: PMC6689023
Notes: Article -- Export Date: 4 September 2019 -- Source: Scopus
Citation Impact
MSK Authors
  1. Daniel Alan Heller
    87 Heller
  2. Prakrit Vaibhav Jena
    25 Jena
  3. Janki Kalpesh Shah
    21 Shah
  4. Edgar Alberto Jaimes
    56 Jaimes
  5. Thomas Vito Galassi
    13 Galassi
  6. Jackson D Harvey
    13 Harvey
  7. Joshua Aaron Korsen
    8 Korsen
  8. Alysandria Eleanor Wayne
    1 Wayne