The evolution and functional diversification of animal microRNA genes Journal Article

Authors: Liu, N.; Okamura, K.; Tyler, D. M.; Phillips, M. D.; Chung, W. J.; Lai, E. C.
Article Title: The evolution and functional diversification of animal microRNA genes
Abstract: microRNAs (miRNAs) are an abundant class of 22 nucleotide (nt) regulatory RNAs that are pervasive in higher eukaryotic genomes. In order to fully understand their prominence in genomes, it is necessary to elucidate the molecular mechanisms that can diversify miRNA activities. In this review, we describe some of the many strategies that allow novel miRNA functions to emerge, with particular emphasis on how miRNA genes evolve in animals. These mechanisms include changes in their sequence, processing, or expression pattern; acquisition of miRNA functionality or antisense processing; and de novo gene birth. The facility and versatility of miRNAs to evolve and change likely underlies how they have become dominant constituents of higher genomes. © 2008 IBCB, SIBS, CAS All rights reserved.
Keywords: genetics; review; molecular genetics; animal; metabolism; animals; microrna; rna interference; evolution; animalia; evolution, molecular; gene expression regulation; gene expression regulation, developmental; molecular evolution; molecular sequence data; eukaryota; nucleotide sequence; base sequence; drosophila melanogaster; untranslated rna; micrornas; rna, untranslated; rna processing; rna processing, post-transcriptional; genes, homeobox; homeobox; neofunctionalization; subfunctionalization
Journal Title: Cell Research
Volume: 18
Issue: 10
ISSN: 1001-0602
Publisher: Nature Publishing Group  
Date Published: 2008-10-01
Start Page: 985
End Page: 996
Language: English
DOI: 10.1038/cr.2008.278
PUBMED: 18711447
PROVIDER: scopus
PMCID: PMC2712117
Notes: --- - "Cited By (since 1996): 34" - "Export Date: 17 November 2011" - "Source: Scopus"
Citation Impact
MSK Authors
  1. David M Tyler
    6 Tyler
  2. Na Liu
    5 Liu
  3. Eric C Lai
    141 Lai
  4. Katsutomo Okamura
    26 Okamura
  5. Weijen Chung
    9 Chung