Automated eligibility screening and monitoring for genotype-driven precision oncology trials Journal Article

Authors: Eubank, M. H.; Hyman, D. M.; Kanakamedala, A. D.; Gardos, S. M.; Wills, J. M.; Stetson, P. D.
Article Title: Automated eligibility screening and monitoring for genotype-driven precision oncology trials
Abstract: The Information Systems Department at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center developed the DARWIN Cohort Management System (DCMS). The DCMS identifies and tracks cohorts of patients based on genotypic and clinical data. It assists researchers and treating physicians in enrolling patients to genotype-matched IRB-approved clinical trials. The DCMS sends automated, actionable, and secure email notifications to users with information about eligible or enrolled patients before their upcoming appointments. The system also captures investigators input via annotations on patient eligibility and preferences on future status updates. As of August 2015, the DCMS is tracking 159,893 patients on both clinical operations and research cohorts. 134 research cohorts have been established and track 64,473 patients. 51,192 of these have had one or more genomic tests including MSK-IMPACT, comprising the pool eligible for genotype-matched studies. This paper describes the design and evolution of this Informatics solution. © The Author 2016.
Keywords: major clinical study; genotype; oncology; screening; clinical research; genomics; cancer epidemiology; information science; personalized medicine; informatics; individualized medicine; e-mail; human; clinical research informatics; genomics, precision oncology
Journal Title: Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association
Volume: 23
Issue: 4
ISSN: 1067-5027
Publisher: Oxford University Press  
Date Published: 2016-07-01
Start Page: 777
End Page: 781
Language: English
DOI: 10.1093/jamia/ocw020
PROVIDER: scopus
PUBMED: 27016727
PMCID: PMC6370254
Notes: Article -- Export Date: 1 September 2016 -- Source: Scopus
Citation Impact
MSK Authors
  1. David Hyman
    351 Hyman
  2. Stuart M Gardos
    19 Gardos
  3. Jonathan   Wills
    23 Wills
  4. Peter D Stetson
    22 Stetson
  5. Michael   Eubank
    4 Eubank